4

Client User "Groups"

It would be really helpful to create "groups" for client users when sharing playlists through the client review site.  we have sometimes a dozen different client users that need to see a playlist and this can vary depending on pipeline step or client.  Remembering all of the different users to include on a specific type of playlist could be made much easier.

6件のコメント

  • 0
    Avatar
    Colleen Jenkinson

    This would be very helpful for us as well.   The ability to have a group to assign to the initial playlist share would be great, however you would also want the group to "expand" once shared, so that you have the ability to modify each individual 'user' so that you can still have the functionality of the "reshare" or "revoke"  functions independently of the group.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Brandon Foster

    Hi DJ, Colleen!

    Thanks for your interest and suggestions. In the 6.3 release of Shotgun we added something like what you've described. Instead of having Client User Groups (like regular user Groups in Shotgun), the Client Review Site will recognize a single user from a group of users which you've shared previously. For example if you previously shared a Playlist in a Project with Client Users A, B, and C, the went to share a new playlist with user A you'd see an option to share with all 3 users. You can read more about it and see examples in the 6.3 release documentation, "Client Review Site v2" section.

    I hope that helps speed up your sharing!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Colleen Jenkinson

    Hey Brandon -- Thanks for the quick reply.  

    This is good news, and will def. speed up sharing to the client. 

    Cheers!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Chris Bromby

    Hi Brandon!

    I found this post when searching the same topic of creating client "groups" as the original poster. I think the addition of the client review site remembering previous shares in 6.3 is a good quick solution for our issue. Are there any plans to give names to the remembered clients in the future?

    The use-case we have with my team is there are clients that we may want to be able to download or comment on videos and some that we do not want to download. It would be great if we could Assign Clients to named Groups i.e. "View Only" and "Unrestricted" and then only type that name in when sharing a playlist. The issue we have is multiple admins will be sharing and those remembered groups are not shared across users but Client Groups could be. Another very helpful addition would be to allow Playlist sharing defaults to be set and remembered per name "Client Group".

    Thanks for the support!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Brandon Foster

    Hey Chris,

    There aren't any immediate plans to give group names to Client Users. It's a good idea, I can see how it'd make managing a number of users a little more sane. I'll point it out to the team!

  • 0
    Avatar
    miker

    This has just been requested by our production team as well.

    On a current project, there are six client users they need to share each playlist with.  Entering them all each time is tedious and error-prone (since ClientUsers can't be associated with Projects, the tab-complete offers all our clients as suggestions).

     

サインインしてコメントを残してください。