4

Ability to move / copy projects between Shotgun sites

We've heard from clients who manage Shotgun sites, they would like the ability to move / copy entire projects between Shotgun sites. There are many use cases for this, a few would include

- Some studios spin up a new Shotgun site for a single show, and afterwards, want to merge it back into their main site

- People who manage a staging site want the ability to move select projects from the production site to the staging site, without overwriting the entire database

We'd love to hear your individual use-cases, add your vote to bump the priority on this feature request, and leave any additional use cases or requirements in the comments.

4 comments

  • 2
    Avatar
    Tony Aiello

    This is the corollary to https://support.shotgunsoftware.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/209477488-Archiving-Individual-Projects

    And yep, we have exactly the two use-cases listed above.  We had separate sites for our first 4 films.  There's not much point in continuing to upgrade the old sites, and it's become increasingly painful to maintain those old OS's and permissions etc.  Yet we do still need to refer to those old sites for portfolio and marketing and other reasons, so we keep them limping along in a pseudo-read-only state.

    It would be great to be able to just re-absorb those projects into our one site to rule them all that we're using for films 5, 6, etc.

    Note my comment re "read-only" state -- that leads into https://support.shotgunsoftware.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/209477728-Per-Project-Disk-Storage .  It would be great to lock-down the filesystem storage for completed projects so that no new stuff could be uploaded to an archived project -- or ideally just re-symlink the "storage" for an archived project onto a slower mounted-as-read-only separate NFS.

    To be REALLY specific -- what we did was start with a "early development" site where all projects were initially created, and then when a particular show would get green-lit, we cloned that whole early-dev site and deleted the other early-dev projects from the resulting clone, leaving just a site dedicated to that one freshly-greenlit project.  Nowadays, what was our "early dev" site is actually now the master -- new projects just stay there instead of getting cloned off.  So that makes the idea of re-integrating the old projects a bit messy -- for those projects that got fully-completed in their separate sites / databases, there are still bits of those projects from their early-dev days in the master.  But I do think we could just blow away those messy early-dev bits in the master server when doing a complete ingest-merge of a "completed" project's database.

     

  • 1
    Avatar
    Jacob Medendorp

    At our studio, we have two separate shotgun sites - one for "secure" projects with IP whitelisting, and another for "non-secure" projects - (can be reached from any internet connection).  It occasionally happens where a project will start off as non-secure, and then circumstances will change and it needs to be migrated over to the secure URL.  It would be great if Shotgun provided a way to do this easily.

  • 1
    Avatar
    Tony Aiello

    Ah, yep, that is a great third use-case.  We have that too.  We have another shotgun site IP-whitelisted to certain external folks, "dedicated" to certain marketing materials, kinda like the Review Site functionality but for more than just versions.  It's common for us to "clone" certain approved entities from the real internal-only master shotgun site to that external site.  We've got that mostly API-scripted at this point, but some built-in tools would definitely be appreciated and make this process easier.

  • 1
    Avatar
    Jacob Medendorp

    Here's another use-case that is becoming more common for us as we get more people using Shotgun here:

    As I mentioned above, we have two Shotgun sites - "secure" for IP whitelisted access, and non-secure for everywhere access.  Supervisors here very frequently go back and forth from URL to URL as they are moved from project to project.  They will get used to having the pages setup on a project that wraps or they move off of, and start up on a new project.  It would be great to have the ability to import a projects configuration settings across URLs.  I wrote a script that kind of gives us this ability, but its on a page-by-page basis and doesn't include all of the nice things in the Tracking Settings, the Project Navigation Bar, etc.

Please sign in to leave a comment.