In our current configuration we are using Nuke combined with Shotgun in I guess the standard way, ie Nuke projects files are stored in a work area before being published. When we publish the comp a copy is placed in the publish area. Same thing goes for images rendered from Nuke.
This is perhaps an heretic question, but we are wondering if it would be possible to configure Shotgun to get rid of that 'concept'. In other words, there would be only one location for nuke setups and for nuke rendered images. Publishing comps or rendered images would create a version in the database, but no copy operation would take place.
I think I understand some of the advantages of the concept of a work area versus a publish area but in our case we worked without this concept for a very long time and have had very rarely issues with it. It was extremely rare for a version to be overwritten by mistake by someone else.
The reasons why we are asking for this are : It would save disk space, save time (the copy operation), and if a few frames are to be rendered again we could overwrite the offending frames without having to render the whole sequence again.
Donat Van Bellinghen