There have been some requests in the past to hide tabs that are no longer being used. An example of this would be in an Episodic workflow, you may want to hide the old delivered Episode tabs from a page so that you don't have too many tabs along the top. However, you wouldn't want to delete those tabs as you may want to access them at a later date.
Perhaps these could be hidden and activated via Design Page mode. You could have all tabs visible here and select which ones to hide from the main view.
Please add your support to this feature if you would find this useful.