Notes and the “Client Note” field
In this article we describe what “Client Notes” are (e.g. notes with the Field “Client Note” checked) and what is the impact of using them.
What Are “Client Notes”?
Client Notes are Notes that have the “Client Note” Field checked. This is true for Notes that were written by Client Users or any other users. All Notes written in the Client Review Site (CRS) automatically have this Field set.
Restricting Who Can See “Client Notes”?
Client Users can only see Client Notes via the Client Review Site, and only if these Notes are in a Playlist they have been invited to. Client Users will not see Notes in these Playlists if they do not have the “Client Note” Field checked.
Regular Shotgun users can only see Client Notes if they have the “Can See Client Notes” permission enabled. Regular users without this permission enabled will only see Notes which do not have the “Client Note” Field checked.
Manually Setting the Client Note Field in Shotgun
It is possible to create Client Notes outside the CRS (ex: on a Notes Page or another entity Page via a Notes tab). That is, it is possible to set the value of the “Client Note” Field on a Note (*This is currently only allowed when the Note is created and cannot be updated after the Note has been created*).
However, Client Users can only see Notes in Playlists to which they were invited, and only if these Notes are also linked to a Version inside that Playlist (this is automatically done for all Notes written in the CRS). So, a Client User will only be able to see Notes that have all the following characteristics:
- The Note has the field “Client Note” set
- The Note is linked to a Playlist and
- The Note is linked to a Version on that Playlist
When all 3 characteristics above are met, the Client User will be able to see the Note (and its replies).
Manually Setting the Client Note Field in the Review Notes App
It is also possible to set the Client Note Field of a Note in the Review Notes App, but since this Field can only be set before the Note is created, it needs to be set before starting to write the Note’s content.
Replies on Client Notes
Replies to Client Notes can only be seen by Shotgun users that have permission to see Client Notes.
Client Users set up to receive email notifications (default), will receive an email notification when a Note they can see is created. The email contains a hyperlink allowing to see that Note in context of the Playlist and Version, via the CRS.
Client user email settings:
Users registered to receive emails for Notes will only receive email notifications for Client Notes or replies to Client Notes when they have permission to see Client Notes.