Legacy TLS Protocol Brownouts

Overview

As part of the deprecation of insecure TLS protocols that will happen on May 15, 2019, we will be performing 3 scheduled maintenance periods where we will disable legacy TLS protocols. While most clients have been able to upgrade their tools to be compliant with the latest version of TLS, there are certain cases where it's been hard to identify non-complaint tools.

What Is Being Done?

During this maintenance we will make two major changes:

  1. All Shotgun sites will only be answering to TLSv1.2 encrypted requests. This will help clients identify non-compliant tools, because they will no longer be able to communicate with Shotgun.
  2. All Shotgun sites will go directly to our servers and will not be using content acceleration from our CDN provider. This allows us to quickly make the changes above and revert if needed.

As a result of these changes, there's a possibility that some tools will not be able to connect to Shotgun. 

After the maintenance period is over, we will switch our infrastructure back to accept both legacy (v1.0/1.1) and the latest version (v1.2) of TLS encryption as well as re-enable content acceleration. At this point, all client tools should resume working as before (event those that are non-compliant).

 

How Can I See Which Tools Are Impacted?

If a tool stops being able to communicate with Shotgun, that's a good indication that it's using non-compliant TLS schemes and will need to be upgraded.

In addition, there's now a feature in Shotgun - available to site administrators - that logs events coming from non-compliant tools.This feature will only be available during the brownouts. Please see Identifying Legacy TLS Connections for more information on how to configure your site to capture those events.

Brownout Schedule

We've planned the maintenance periods to coincide with the start of working days in three regions:

  • Asia-Pacific
  • Europe
  • West coast of North America
Date
Time (UTC)
Dominant Timezone

16-17 Apr 2019

Apr 16 23:00 - Apr 17 01:00 (UTC) Apr 17 08:00 - 10:00 (JST/KST)

07:00 - 09:00 (UTC) 08:00 - 10:00 (BST)

15:00 - 17:00 (UTC) 08:00 - 10:00 (PDT)

 

For more information about this or to ask questions, please send us an email at support@shotgunsoftware.com

Follow